Adhikari to contest from Nandigram. TMC MLA from Shantipur joins BJP

Mamata may face tough fight in Nandigram. “I take responsibility to for BJP’s win from Nandigram”, says Adhikari

Suvendu Adhikari had said that he will contest upcoming election from the Nandigram assembly. The decision will help Suvendu Adhikari, to form his battleground in the area which once led to the rise of TMC reign in West Bengal. He was once a trusted aide of Mamata Banerjee, and now he will contest against her in the field where the historic reign of TMC had started.

BJP sources have confirmed that Suvendu Adhikari will contest from Nandigram assembly seat after he accepted Mamata Banerjee’s challenge to contest her in Nandigram. Suvendu Adhikari, during a rally at Khejuri in Purba Midnapore, said it's not fair on the part of Mamata Banerjee to contest from two seats, when she declared that she will contest the assembly elections from Nandigram, as well as Bhowanipore weeks after Suvendu joined the BJP.

To add woes to worries,  Santipur MLA Arindam Bhattacharya joined BJP in the national capital in the presence of senior party leaders. Incidentally, Arindam Bhattacharya had contested the 2016 Assembly election on a Congress ticket and defeated TMC leader Ajoy Dey. However, he joined the Mamata Banerjee-led party in June 2017 along with another Congress legislator Sankar Singha.

Earlier several honchos join BJP apart from Suvendu Adhikari. They are Silbhadra Dutta, Tapasi Mondal, Ashoke Dinda, Sudip Mukherjee, Saikat Panja, Dipali Biswas, Sukra Munda, Shyamapda Mukherjee, Biswajit Kundu and Banasri Maity and TMC MP Sunil Mondal all joined BJP.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment