AIADMK's quota deal seals alliance with PMK

The PMK party has been allotted 23 seats and 10.5 per cent of special reservation for the Vanniyar community

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) has finalised its seat-sharing with ally Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) for the upcoming assembly polls. The decision came a day after the Election Commission announced the election schedule for poll bound states. The PMK party headed by S. Ramadoss has been allotted 23 seats. The seats allotted to PMK would be in Dharmapuri, Virudhunagar and mainly the northern region of Tamil Nadu, which has a considerable Vanniyar population. AIADMK offered the BJP 15 seats, but the ruling national party demanding more constituencies, undergoing negotiations.

In recent development, one of the most crucial decisions that had been taken is nod for giving special reservation to Vanniyar community. The Tamil Nadu assembly had passed a bill to provide a 10.5 per cent of special reservation for the Vanniyar community in educational institutions and in the appointment of posts in services under the state. The is in accordance to the demand of Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), an ally of AIADMK and NDA, is seen as a crucial decision by the AIADMK regime to retain PMK in their alliance even as the party has no representation in the state assembly. After the bill had tabled and had been passed by Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami on Friday the PMK founder S. Ramadoss had said that he was “drenched in tears of joys”; the Vanniyar community will get the aforesaid reservation within the ‘Most Backward Caste’ (MBC) quota.

The BJP and PMK functionaries are desperately lobbying to get the Jayankondam Assembly constituency as seat sharing talks kicked off in the AIADMK-led alliance. However, the AIADMK, which is currently representing the constituency, is eager to keep hold on it.

Jayankodam constituency falls under Ariyalur district and falls under Vanniyar majority area. The Late VanniyarSangam president J Guru earlier served as the MLA from this constituency (2011-16). The constituency has a total of 2,66,013 voters.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment