BJP will win over 200 seats in Bengal, improve tally in Assam: Amit Shah

People are yearning for a change and are with us: Shah

Showing confidence that Bharatiya Janata Party would convincingly win the West Bengal assembly polls and return to office in Assam, home minister Amit Shah cited that it will be part of the winning combination (their AIADMK-led alliance) in Tamil Nadu and improve its performance in terms of seats in both Kerala and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

The senior saffron party leader also predicted a thumping win for his party in Bengal, asserting that people there are yearning for a change from the Trinamool Congress' "misrule" and will embrace Prime Minister Narendra Modi's vision for the state's development. "We will win more than 200 seats in Bengal and improve our tally in Assam," he said.

Shah said that the party has only strengthened its position since the 2019 Lok Sabha polls while the TMC's support base has eroded with a large number of its leaders quitting the organisation. Most of them have joined the BJP.

"We won 18 Lok Sabha seats out of the total 42 in 2019 and lost three by small margins. That too when people had doubts about our victory. Now they have confidence that we can win. People are yearning for a change and are with us," he said.

Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee may not want to see Modi and it is her choice, but people of Bengal have been displaying their affection for him by coming out in huge numbers to see him, he said, referring to large turnouts in the prime minister's rallies.

The BJP-led NDA government in the state has worked to rid it of infiltration and terrorism and will now work to resolve its regular flood crisis, he said, expressing confidence that the alliance will improve its tally.

"The Congress'' alliance with the AIDUF and the development work done by us will be the reasons for our victory," Shah said.

Assembly polls to four states and the union territory of Puducherry will start from March 27. Bengal and Assam will have eight-phase and three-phase elections while Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will have a single-phase election on April 6.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment