Uttar Pradesh Election: From CM Yogi to SP's Maurya, Here are key fights of phase 6

In the 2017 polls, the ruling BJP party won 46 of these seats

The phase 6 is a direct battle between the alliance's which is led by BJP and the Samajwadi Party, and around 57 seats will go to the polls in the 6th phase of the Uttar Pradesh election on 3 March. 

There are around 676 candidates in the fray for these constituencies spread over ten districts which are Gorakhpur, Ambedkarnagar, Ballia, Balrampur, Maharajganj, Sant Kabir Nagar, Basti, Deoria, Kushinagar and Siddharthnagar. 

Here are the important electoral battles:

1) Gorakhpur Urban: Yogi Adityanath (BJP) vs Subhawati Shukla (SP) vs Chandrashekhar Azad (ASP)

Gorakhpur Urban, a seat which BJP's strong hold. Yogi represented the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat from 1998 to 2017 and is expected to secure a comfortable victory.

Meanwhile, SP has fielded BJP leader Upendra Dutt Shukla's wife Subhawati Shukla to challenge the UP CM and Bhim Army chief Chandrashekhar Azad is also contesting as a candidate of the Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram). 

2) Fazilnagar: Swami Prasad Maurya (SP) vs Surendra Kumar Kushwaha (BJP)

This seat will undergo an important election as  high-stakes battle between BJP and SP as former UP Minister Swami Prasad Maurya is in the poll. 

3) Katehari: Lalji Verma (SP) vs Avadhesh Kumar (BJP)

 Lalji Verma is eyeing another win from Katehari and he was a member of the Uttar Pradesh Cabinet when Mayawati was the CM. Verma was BSP's founding member and was serving as the Legislative Party leader. Later he  joined SP in November in the presence of Akhilesh Yadav.

4) Bansdih: Ram Govind Chaudhary (SP) vs Ketakee Singh (BJP)

Veteran socialist leader Ram Govind Chaudhary is eyeing to win one more term from the Bansdih Assembly constituency and he is serving as the Leader of Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly. BJP has fielded Ketakee Singh against him. 

5) Chillupar: Vinay Shankar Tiwari (SP) vs Rajesh Tripathi (BJP)

This region will see a faceoff between SP's Vinay Shankar Tiwari and Rajesh Tripathi of BJP.  

In the 2017 polls, the ruling BJP party won 46 of these seats. Many other heavyweight members are present in this region who will fight for a much needed win.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment