Opposition parties to abstain from Parliament Inauguration program

On Tuesday, three of the most heavy weight opposition parties AAP, TMC and CPI declared that they will not attend the inauguration ceremony of newly constructed building of Parliament and other opposition parties will also follow them.
Opposition parties has demanded that President of India Draupadi Murmu should inaugurate the building, but PM Modi will do in place of her. That's why opposition showed strong resistance towards this decision. 
TMC MP Derek o Brian wrote on twitter "Parliament is not just a new building; it is an establishment with old traditions, values, precedents and rules -- it is the foundation of Indian democracy. Prime Minister Modi doesn't get that. For him, Sunday's inauguration of the new building is all about I, ME, MYSELF. So count us out".
In Tuesday CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury termed the ‘bypassing’ of the President as ‘unacceptable’ as he wrote, “Modi bypassed the President when the foundation stone for the new Parliament building was laid. Now too at the inauguration. 

Unacceptable. Constitution Art 79: “There shall be a Parliament for the Union which shall consist of the President and two Houses…”
AAP Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh took to Twitter and said that the party would boycott the inauguration program in protest against PM Modi not inviting the president.
As of now, Congress has not released any official statement and none of its leaders have announced that the grand old party will boycott the ceremony. However, party sources have said that Congress is likely to skip the inauguration program and it is likely that they will issue a statement on Wednesday.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment