Five ministers take charge in Puducherry, including first woman in four decades

Chief Minister Rangasamy, among others, was present on the occasion.

Ending the more than a month long suspense over cabinet formation, five ministers, including two from the BJP, were inducted in the Chief Minister N Rangasamy-led NDA cabinet on Sunday.

A Namassivayam, K Lakshminarayanan, C Djeacoumar, Chandira Priyanga and A K Sai J Saravana Kumar were sworn in as Ministers by Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundarajan in front of the Raj Nivas. All the Ministers took oath in the name of God.

Chief Minister Rangasamy, among others, was present on the occasion. The portfolios of the ministers were not revealed.

Lakshminarayanan, Djeacoumar and Priyanga represent lead partner AINRC, while Namassivayam and Saravana Kumar are from its ally BJP. This is the first time the saffron party is part of a Ministry in the Union Territory.

The exercise also saw a woman member become a minister after a 41 year gap, with Chandira Priyanga being sworn in.

Late Congress leader Renuka Appadurai was the last woman minister from the UT during 1980-83 and handled the Education portfolio in the M D R Ramachandran (DMK)-led coalition ministry.

Ending more than a month’s suspense over cabinet formation, Chief Minister N Rangasamy on June 23 submitted the list of members to be included in his ministry, to Soundararajan, which was subsequently approved by the President.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment