Uttrakhand CM Trivendra Singh Rawat resigns

Ajay Bhatt and Satpal Maharaj.The frontrunners for the post include - State Education Minister Dhan Singh Rawat, MP

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat tendered his resignation from the post on 9 March. He met the state's Governor Baby Rani Maurya at the Raj Bhawan in Dehradun on Tuesday afternoon and quit his post.

The crisis over Rawat’s continuance arose after the national leadership of the party despatched two central observers to the State after consistent complaints on his style of functioning within the party and reported popularity in the State.

The central observers — former Chattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh and Rajya Sabha MP Dushyant Gautam — underlined serious shortcomings in Rawat’s handling of party and government.

The frontrunners for the post as of now include State Education Minister Dhan Singh Rawat, MP Ajay Bhatt and Satpal Maharaj.


India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment