Ten States get Rs 7,930 crore royalty from coal mining: Centre

Rupees 2,102 crore given to Jharkhand, followed by Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha

A total royalty of rupees 7,930 crore was provided to states from coal mining during April-December 2020, Parliament informed on Monday.


Pralhad Joshi who is the Coal Minister said in a written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha that a royalty of rupees 2,102 crore went to Jharkhand, followed by rupees 1,575 crore to Chhattisgarh, rupees 1,489 crore to Madhya Pradesh, and rupees 1,165 crore to Odisha.


The minister also that a royalty of rupees 12,962 crore was paid to states in 2019-20, rupees 14,746 crore during 2018-19, rupees 13,126 crore during 2017-18, Rs 11,227 crore during 2016-17, and Rs 10,736 crore in 2015-16.


A total of ten states were given royalty, and those are Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana, West Bengal, Assam, Uttar Pradesh and Meghalaya.


Royalty is a right given to states to receive payments on the basis of percentage of the minerals produced at a mine or of the profits revenues generated from the sales of those minerals at a mine.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment