WhatsApp launches its 'view once' feature, disappearing photos, videos

The ‘View Once’ feature initially started on WhatsApp for iPhone version 2.21.150.

The “View Once” feature started rolling out on WhatsApp today, which deletes photos or videos from your chat after they’ve been opened by the recipient. When a user sends a photo or video, the user can make it view once by tapping the “1” button beside the send button.
 
As soon as the recipient opens it, it’ll be deleted and the recipient will be able to see that it’s a disappearing photo, so it’s still the type of feature that you’d only want to use for people you don't  trust to take a screenshot.
 
Earlier in June, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg had confirmed that the feature would be coming, more details about it would release were scarce.  According to WaBetaInfo, the feature has been in beta testing for about a month.
 
As an example of how the feature works, the online messaging platform uses the example of sending a photo of sensitive information, like a Wi-Fi password.
 
It is useful to have an option of the disappearing messages on the application, which will only go away after a week from your chat’s permanent record.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment