WhatsApp in their future updates will soon allow the users to hide their profile picture and last seen from specific contacts. Only the chosen peoples by the user will be available to see the profile picture and last seen.
The last seen timing rests on the top of the conversation and below the person's name. The feature helps to see the time when a person was online last time or when the user was last active. Presently, the user has the option to disable the last seen option but it disables the feature altogether in all contacts.
In the future update, you can set the option to "Everyone," "Nobody" and "My Contacts" . This new development feature is spotted in the beta version of WhatsApp.
The new option will have "My Contacts Except..." which will allow the person to specifically choose who they would want to hide their "last seen" timestamp. But once the user disables the last seen status on WhatsApp, even the user will not be able to see others last seen status as well.
There are no specific dates mentioned when this feature will be rolled out. The company will be bringing the update in order to enhance the privacy of the users.