EU lifts travel restrictions for US tourists and 13 other countries

There will be no discrimination if they are vaccinated or not, for nonessential travel

The European Union on Friday lifted travel restrictions for US tourists after over a year. There will be no discrimination if they are vaccinated or not, for nonessential travel.

Apart from the US, the EU has lifted restrictions on non-essential travel from 13 other countries including Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Singapore, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity). The list is reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

Last year on June 30, the Council adopted a recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU and included an initial list of countries for which member states should start lifting the travel restrictions at the external borders.

The Council adopted an amending recommendation on 20 May for easing travel restriction as there vaccination drive going across the world and case drop. At the same time, the amendments also take into account the possible risks posed by new variants by setting out an emergency brake mechanism in emergence of a variant of interest or concern in a third country.

The Council recommendation is not legally binding and the authorities of the member states remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. Going by the situation the member state amendment the restriction of travel.

The governing body added, "All persons travelling from any country for an essential or non-essential reason should have tested negative for Covid-19 in a PCR test taken at the earliest 72 hours before." Additionally, member states may require self-isolation or a 14-day-long quarantine period, and further Covid-19 testing.

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment