Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov wins Nobel Peace Prize for journalism

This prize is the first for the journalists since German Carl von Ossietzky

The Nobel Peace Prize, this year is won by two Journalist named Maria Ressa from the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia. They have won this year’s Nobel Peace Prize and are recognised “for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression”.
Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, said that the two journalists were given the prestigious award “for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia."
She also said, “At the same time, they are representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions."
This prize is the first for the journalists since German Carl von Ossietzky, who won it in the year 1935 for revealing his country’s secret post-war rearmament programme.
She added, “Free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda."
Maria Ressa, founded investigative journalism website Rappler, has focused most of her work on Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte’s critical and violent war on drugs.
While Muratov founded the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in the year 1993 and has been its editor-in-chief for 24 years. This newspaper has seen six of its journalists murdered and is today one of the very few independent media outlets in Russia.
The Kremlin congratulated the Russian journalist and said, “We can congratulate Dmitry Muratov."

India Scanner News Network

Leave a comment